Blindness Awareness Month Fact of the Day (October 11)

The Way Eye See

Did you know many individuals who are blind or have a visual impairment can make eye contact? Yes, that’s right, they sure can! But how you may ask? Well, let me tell you a little story. I have an amazing friend who has been with me throughout the past couple years and has Retinitis Pigmentosa too. She, however, had a much earlier and rapid degeneration. She was diagnosed at 5, legally blind at 16.. and I met her when she was 29, I think. Compare that to me, I was diagnosed at 14, legally blind at 23 and I’m now 24. So when I met her, one of my best friends, she was almost totally blind. She still could detect light and some colors here and there but not a whole lot. That has pretty much gone away now, but that’s not the point. Then and now she can make…

View original post 119 more words

Leave a Reply

