Hameeda Raj: How having a deaf son influenced my MA – on deaf people in employment

The Limping Chicken

This is the title of my MBA Dissertation. How and why have I chosen this?

We have to go back seven years, to when we discovered our two year old son was deaf.

We naively thought his lack of hearing was due to ‘glue ear’ and that it would be miraculously solved by grommets. When the consultant walked into the room whilst my son was in recovery, I was expecting to hear ‘all is well, his hearing is now fine’. How wrong were we?

He dropped the bombshell that Amaan was in fact ‘severely to profoundly deaf’. How could we have a deaf child when we had no history of deafness going back several generations, with all of my nieces and nephews being hearing children? Amaan’s elder sister was hearing too.

I cried for days, blamed myself, blamed my husband, blamed myself all over again. Then began our journey of…

View original post 518 more words

Leave a Reply

