Disability Breeds Creativity – Celebrating Adaptive Uses of Kitchen Tongs and Ottomans

Words I Wheel By

My family and I often joke that our house should have a sign in front that reads “Home Healthcare Store.” In actuality, our little joke isn’t far from reality; we own enough adaptive equipment that if we put it all in one room, it would look like we have a combination physical therapy office/rehabilitation clinic/medical supply store. We have a little bit of everything, ranging from items like weighted medicine balls and stretchy therapy bands to custom equipment such as walkers, braces, and wheelchairs. And while I could fill an entire blog post with a list of all the things that make my life a bit easier, I’d like to focus on the little things I use each day – both true adaptive tools and repurposed household items – to be as independent as possible. After all, it’s the little things that make the biggest differences.

One of my favorite…

View original post 805 more words

One thought on “Disability Breeds Creativity – Celebrating Adaptive Uses of Kitchen Tongs and Ottomans

  1. Thank you so very much for sharing my post!

Leave a Reply

