Andy Palmer: Ten reasons why you should learn sign language

The Limping Chicken

Click on the video below to watch this article in BSL, signed by Tessa Padden courtesy of our supporters Signworld!

Everyone wants to learn a bit of sign language. Most people that I meet want to learn some, and it’s been that way ever since I can remember.

When I was in primary school, I was in demand as a mini sign-language teacher. I did a couple of classes down the corridor and then I landed a big gig. I was asked to teach the Brownies. It doesn’t come much bigger than that when you’re nine years old.

I remember BMXing across town that evening to get to the hall where the Brownies gathered every week, wondering what I was going to teach them, apart from, obviously, the alphabet.

What is the funniest thing for primary school kids to talk about I thought? Yes, of course! Bodily functions. The…

View original post 1,161 more words

Leave a Reply

