Book Review: “Song Without Words”, Part I

SayWhatClub

 
 
SONG WITHOUT WORDS:
Discovering My Deafness Halfway through Life
by Gerald Shea
 
Song Without Words
 

If you’re seeking to unravel the mystery that is lipreading, read on…

As I’ve mentioned on my home list of Connect, I’m reading Gerald Shea’s “Songs Without Words:  Discovering My Deafness Halfway through Life”, a story about a “partially deaf” (his description, and a very good one) man who lost his hearing due to a cocktail of chicken pox and scarlet fever, at age six.

I received the book from my son, who works at the Spirit of ‘76 Bookstore, in Marblehead.  They provided copies of the book for purchase and signing for an event held this past June 26th, at the Abbot Public Library.  My son knew I would be interested in this story, since it follows my own experience with hearing loss and lipreading so closely.

At age six, after…

View original post 360 more words

Leave a Reply

